Facing a DUI charge in Kentucky can affect your life in many ways. In addition to facing fines and jail time, you might find that your friends and family treat you differently. The stigma associated with driving under the influence usually leaves little room for sympathy for the driver.
Dan Carman and Attorneys want to ensure that you are treated fairly. No matter what crime you are charged with, it is important to remember that you still have rights and that you are entitled to due process. This includes ensuring that the arresting officer adhered to all applicable rules and regulations during the arrest.
Kentucky DUI Statistics
- A driver is legally considered to be impaired if his or her blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent or higher (see exceptions below).
- Although they are illegal in some other states, sobriety checkpoints are used by law enforcement in Kentucky.
- Like in most other states, Kentucky DUI conviction rates are relatively high. Here are some example DUI conviction rates from around the state from 2008 to 2012:
- In Eastern Kentucky, Floyd County had a DUI conviction rate of 85.5 percent, Pike County’s rate was 76.9 percent and Breathitt County DUIs had a conviction rate of 93.1 percent.
- In Central Kentucky, Boyle County had a DUI conviction rate of 86.7 percent, Scott had a rate of 84.5 percent and Jessamine County conviction rates were 91.8 percent.
- In Western Kentucky, DUI’s in Hopkins County had a conviction rate of 87.3 percent, Muhlenberg County DUI conviction rates was 91.6 percent and Christian County DUI’s had a 85.9 percent conviction rate.
Kentucky DUI Laws
- First Offense – The first DUI offense in Kentucky includes a $200 to $500 fine, two to 30 days’ jail time, 90 days of alcohol and substance abuse program, 30 to 120 days of license suspension and possible two to 30 days of community labor.
- Second Offense – Second DUI offense within a five-year span in Kentucky includes $350 to $500 in fines, seven days to six months’ jail time, one year of alcohol and substance abuse programs, 12 to 18 months’ suspension of license, and 10 days to six months of community labor.
- Third Offense – Third DUI offenses within a five-year span in Kentucky include $500 to $1,000 in fines, 30 days to 12 months’ jail time, one year of alcohol and substance abuse programs, 24 to 36 months of license suspension and 10 days to 12 months of community labor.
- Fourth Offense – Fourth DUI offenses within a five-year span in Kentucky are Class D felonies with a minimum term of 120 days’ imprisonment with probation.
Punishment for DUIs in Kentucky can be even more harsh if they occur under “aggravated circumstances,” such as traveling the wrong way on a one-way street, traveling 30 miles per hour over the speed limit, causing an accident resulting in injuries or death, or transporting a passenger under the age of 12.
BAC Under 0.08 Percent
For the majority of drivers, impairment is legally determined by a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or greater. However, there are two subsets of drivers who must have lower limits. Drivers of commercial vehicles can be charged if they have a BAC limit of 0.04 percent. Drivers under the age of 21, the legal drinking age, have BAC limit of 0.02 percent.
What We Look At…
There are many things to consider when investigating a DUI charge. Was the officer justified in pulling you over? Did the officer follow all the rules throughout your arrest? A skilled DUI defense attorney knows how to look at your charge from every angle to determine your best defense.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Kentucky, you need an attorney with experience dealing with these types of cases. Having an attorney familiar with DUIs can make all the difference in the results of your case. Dan Carman and Attorneys represent clients from all over Kentucky to make sure that their rights are protected and they are given due process. Contact us today via our online form or by giving us a call.